Colleges And Universities Accepting The Coalition App This Fall

College Campus In The Fall

The wait is finally over!

It was announced recently that 55 of the 94 member colleges and universities of the Coalition for College Access, Affordability and Success will be accepting applications via the Coalition platform this fall. Some of these schools, such as Yale University, will accept the Coalition application as well as other current application platforms, such as the Common App, the Universal College Application and Questbridge National College Match Application. Other Schools, such as the University of Maryland – College Park, will only be using the Coalition platform.

The other 37 additional member schools, including Brown, Cornell and Dartmouth, have chosen to hold off for a year and will not accept the Coalition application until 2017/18. MIT and Georgetown remain among the schools that will continue to use their own application platforms. MIT’s Dean of Admissions Stuart Schmill stated that MIT likes the flexibility that their own application gives them, while Georgetown’s Dean of Undergraduate Admissions Charles Deacon cited concerns that the Coalition platform will actually create an application process that is “more complicated and less helpful for low-income students,” the very group that the Coalition claims to be supporting.

More than ever, it will be important for 2016/17 applicants to begin planning early and find out which application platforms the schools they are interested in are accepting.

The (55) schools planning to accept the Coalition application for 2016/2017 are:


American Universitylink
Amherst Collegelink
Bowdoin Collegelink
Bryn Mawr Collegelink
Carleton Collegelink
Claremont McKenna Collegelink
Clemson Universitylink
Colby Collegelink
Colgate Universitylink
College of the Holy Crosslink
College of William & Marylink
Columbia Universitylink
Connecticut Collegelink
Davidson Collegelink
Denison Universitylink
Duke Universitylink
Emory Universitylink
Hamilton Collegelink
Harvard Universitylink
Indiana University – Bloomingtonlink
Johns Hopkins Universitylink
North Carolina State University at Raleighlink
Northeastern Universitylink
Northwestern Universitylink
Ohio State Universitylink
Pennsylvania State Universitylink
Pomona Collegelink
Purdue Universitylink
Reed Collegelink
Rice Universitylink
Rutgers University – New Brunswicklink
St Olaf Collegelink
Stanford University link
State University of New York – Binghamton Universitylink
State University of New York – College at Geneseolink
Swarthmore Collegelink
Texas A&M Universitylink
Tufts Universitylink
Union Collegelink
University of Chicagolink
University of Connecticutlink
University of Floridalink
University of Iowalink
University of Minnesota – Twin Citieslink
University of Notre Damelink
University of Pittsburghlink
University of Rochesterlink
University of South Carolinalink
Vanderbilt Universitylink
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State Universitylink
Wake Forest Universitylink
Washington University in St. Louislink
Williams Collegelink
Yale Universitylink

Some of the (36) additional member schools that will accept the Coalition application for 2017/2018 include:


Bates Collegelink
Brown Universitylink
College of New Jerseylink
Colorado Collegelink
Cornell Universitylink
Dartmouth Collegelink
Florida State Universitylink
Franklin and Marshall Collegelink
Franklin W. Olin College of Engineeringlink
Georgia Institute of Technologylink
Grinnell Collegelink
Haverford Collegelink
Illinois State Universitylink
James Madison Universitylink
Miami University – Ohiolink
Michigan State Universitylink
Middlebury Collegelink
Mount Holyoke Collegelink
Oberlin Collegelink
University of Maryland – College Parklink
University of Washingtonlink

Read more from our team about the Coalition Application here.

Leave a Reply

Closing Out The 2016 First-Gen Ten Scholarship